Likert Scale is a type of rating or scaling method that is usually used in various types of surveys. In cases where the quality of something cannot be quantified, such as how good or bad I am, how much I like or dislike something, etc. This scaling method is mostly used in ratings, surveys etc. Likert scale is named after psychologist Rensis Likert.

We often see a scale like the following while rating something after completing a course –

  • Strongly disagree
  • Disagree
  • Neither agree nor disagree
  • Agree
  • Strongly agree

This is the Likert scale. Likert scale can have multiple items, these items are called points or levels. What we saw above is a five point (5-pont) Likert scale. Likert scale can have different levels, like – seven point (7-point) Likert scale, nine point (9-point) Likert scale etc.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x